ICAR-KVK East Sikkim confers Pt. Deen Dayal Upadhyay Rashtriy Krishi Vigyan Protshahan Puraskar - 2018

      On the occasion of ICAR 91st Foundation Day on July 16, 2019 at NASC Complex, New Delhi, KVK East Sikkim, ICAR-National Organic Farming Research Institute, Tadong, Gangtok was awarded “Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyay Rashtriya Krishi Vigyan Protsahan Puraskar – 2018” as the Best KVK Award from ICAR-ATARI, Zone VI Guwahati by the Hon'ble Union Minister for Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Shri Narendra Singh Tomar in the august presence of MoS for Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Shri Parshottam Rupala, and Shri Kailash Choudhary; Hon. M. P. Shri B.D. Sharma, Dr. T. Mohapatra, Secretary, DARE and DG, ICAR, Dr. A. K. Singh, DDG (Agricultural Extension) and Dr. A. K. Tripathi, Director, ICAR-ATARI-VI, Guwahati. Dr. R.K. Avasthe Joint Director, ICAR-NOFRI and Dr. Raghavendra Singh, Sr. Scientist and Head, KVK-East Sikkim received the award from the Hon'ble Union Minister for Agriculture and Farmers Welfare. The award carries a Certificate, Citation and cash prize of Rs. 2.25 lakhs. The award was given to the KVK-East Sikkim based on the performance of last five year for the economic and social benefit of the farming community of East Sikkim. During the reporting period the KVK conducted more than 70 nos. of on farm trials (OFTs) on various new organic production technologies and 68 nos. front line demonstrations (FLDs) of proven technologies covering about 400 nos. of farmers. Additionally, the KVK has conducted large nos. of training programmes for the various stakeholders during the period. The KVK has undertaken various Cluster Front Line Demonstrations on oilseeds and pulses under NMOPP, NFSM and TSP. Further, various flagship programs of Govt. of Indida viz., PMFBY, PMKSY, SHC scheme and many other have been running for the promotion of improved technologies. The KVK has also initiated the “Doubling the Farmers Income (DFI) -2022” at Thanka Martam in the year 2017. The hard work of all the KVK SMSes, administrative staff of ICAR-NOFRI and KVK, drivers, laborers was reflected in the award.

Hon'ble Union Minister for Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Shri Narendra Singh Tomar presented the award

Issued by the